Search This Blog

Friday, December 28, 2012

Sethman, Ware and Wood Join ECMHS Board of Directors

The Museum and Historical Society Board of directors welcomes three new members: Barbara Sethmann, Helen Ware and C. Norman Wood.
Barbara Sethmann moved to Essex County in 2010 from the Charlottesville area.  A graduate of VCU in Art History and Museum Studies, she now resides in Dunnsville with her husband Roger. She is currently Senior Legal Editor for LexisNexis, Charlottesville office. She is also a member of: St. John’s Episcopal Church where she sings in the choir, The Henricopolis Chapter of the DAR, Albemarle Chapter UDC and has been serving as a volunteer docent and docent coordinator at the Museum.
Helen Ware worked as a CPA in Ocala Florida and became a corporate officer for Ocala Federal Savings and Loan Association in 1968. In 1981 she married Joseph L. Ware of Dunnsvile and worked with Mr. Ware at Ware Oil Company, Inc. She is a member of Rappahannock Christian Church in Dunnsville, where she has been a deaconess and deacon and currently serves as elder and trustee.  Mrs. Ware has been a member of the Women’s Club of Essex County since 1981 where she has held every office and served on various committees of the General Federation OF Women’s Clubs of Virginia. She served as co-chair with Frances Garrett for the fund-raising effort to build the Essex County Library and along with her husband, Joe, led the effort to construct, obtain the names and donated the Courthouse Green War Memorial. She also participates in Operation Inasmuch and has held offices in The Liberty Belles and The American Legion Auxiliary. 
C. Norman Wood, a graduate of The University of Texas, joined the Air Force and after attending Officer Training School became the first OTS graduate to become a brigadier general. In 1974, he served at the Pentagon including an assignment with the office of Air Force History. Until he retired in 1992, he served between Omaha Nebraska and Washington DC in many capacities including serving at the White House during Regan’s term. After retirement, he worked with a non-profit of over 130 worldwide chapters focused on information technology.

Suzanne Derieux, Board President, expressed her appreciation for the efforts of those long term board members: Gordon Harrower, Priscilla Vaughan and Louise Velletri who will be leaving the board but continuing their support as docents and advisors.

No comments:

Post a Comment